Perspectives

Connor Reid

At Andover,
No one sees ethnicity.
We don’t judge by Race, Color, or Creed, so
Everything is okay.

I feel so cosmopolitan,
Being with such diverse people,
United, despite racial barriers.

Not aware to some, but
I think about it all the time.
I feel so proud!
We see you for what you are,
A person.

It’s important to have diversity.
They say, “40% students of color.”
That’s why I like being here.
I like that they make an effort,
An effort to expose us to new,
Different kinds of people.

See, at Andover,
No one sees ethnicity.
We don’t judge by Race, Color, or Creed, so
Everything is okay.

Darius Brown

At Andover,
No one sees ethnicity.
We don’t judge by Race, color, or creed, yet
Everything is not okay.

I feel so isolated,
Separated, always being seen
as different, despite “equality.”

Not aware to some, but
I think about it all the time.
I feel so angry!
They see me for what I am,
A statistic.

It’s important to have diversity.
“40% students of color.”
Is that why I’m here?
For diversity?
To help some rich kids cross
“Racial barriers” they created?

See, at Andover,
No one sees ethnicity.
We don’t judge by Race, color, or creed, yet
Everything is not okay.

This piece was taken directly from the Out of the Blue book. To read more like this, be sure to check your mailbox or online on December 13. 

Leave a Reply

